We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Borough Council elections - Thursday 6 May 2021

In Brentwood there are 37 council seats spread across 15 wards. Eight of the wards have three elected councillors, whilst the six less populated wards are represented by two councillors, and the least populated ward is represented by just one councillor. Councillors are usually elected for a four year term of office.

Each year, a third of the council is up for election, with the fourth year holding County Council elections. Due to the Covid-19 Pandemic, the 2020 elections were postponed for one year and are taking place on the same day as the county council elections.

This year, there are 12 wards up for election, with the Liberal Democrats defending four seats (Brentwood North, Brentwood West, Pilgrims Hatch & Warley).

Currently, we have 13 seats (see our councillors here). For the Tories to lose their majority, we need to hold our four seats and gain at least two.

Here, we will be listing our candidates of whom we are extremely proud to offer to the people of Brentwood as their representatives.

Voting takes place on Thursday 6 May from 7am to 10pm but you can also vote by post. If you would like a postal vote please apply here.

Brentwood North

Cllr Alison fulcher

CLLR ALISON FULCHER

Tel: 07852407149

Email: alison.fulcher@brentwoodlibdems.org.uk

Occupation: Retail Management

Brentwood South

Brenner Munden

BRENNER MUNDEN

Tel: 07535 749545

Email: brenner.munden@brentwoodlibdems.org.uk

Occupation: Politics Student

Brentwood West

Cllr Karen Chilvers

CLLR KAREN CHILVERS

Tel: 07774248362

Email: karen.chilvers@brentwoodlibdems.org.uk

Occupation: Children's Author

Brizes & Doddinghurst

Hugh Gorton, Brentwood, Brizes & Doddinghurst (Karen Chilvers)

HUGH GORTON

Tel: 07870 310436

Email: hugh.gorton@brentwoodlibdems.org.uk

Occupation: Retired Scientist

Hutton Central

Laura Carey

LAURA CAREY

Tel: 07551 320727

Email: laura.carey@brentwoodlibdems.org.uk

Occupation: Senior Psychology Lecturer & Mental Health Mentor

Hutton North

Taylor Higgins

Taylor Higgins

TAYLOR HIGGINS

Tel: 07484804454

Email: taylor.higgins@brentwoodlibdems.org.uk

Occupation: Law Student

Hutton South

Alex Carter

ALEX CARTER

Tel: 07513398429

Email: alex.carter@brentwoodlibdems.org.uk

Occupation: Languages Student

Ingatestone, Fryerning & Mountnessing

Darryl Sankey, Ingatestone

DARRYL SANKEY

Tel: 07905 222691

Email: darryl.sankey@brentwoodlibdems.org.uk

Occupation: Retired accountant

Pilgrims Hatch

Cllr David Kendall

CLLR DAVID KENDALL

Tel: 07768 667824

Email: david.kendall@brentwoodlibdems.org.uk

Occupation: Business Owner

Shenfield

Gary McDonnell

GARY MACDONNELL

Tel: 07415791950

Email: gary.macdonnell@brentwoodlibdems.org.uk

Occupation: Major Infrastructure Project Manager

Warley

Martin Cuthbert

MARTIN CUTHBERT

Tel: 07949 411114

Email: martin.cuthbert@brentwoodlibdems.org.uk

Occupation: IT Company Director

No borough election in Hutton East, Ingrave, Herongate & West Horndon or South Weald this year. We have decided not to oppose the independent councillor Roger Keeble in Tipps Cross.